The Sprudgie Awardsโ€””The Only Awards In Coffee”โ€”are back for an astonishing eighth annual season, and the worldwide nominations process begins today. Fill out your nominations ballot by clicking here now, or simply use the Google form embedded below. Read on for more information about the award categories.

Each year since the launch of this website in 2009, we’ve given out the Sprudgie Awards honoring the best and brightest in specialty coffee in the following categories:

advert but first coffee cookbook now available


Best New Cafe โ€” Honoring the most outstanding new coffee bar to open in 2016. Past winners include Paramount Coffee Project (Los Angeles), Scandinavian Embassy (Amsterdam), Intelligentsia Logan Square (Chicago), Pergamino Cafe (Medellin), Milstead & Co. (Seattle)

Notable Roaster โ€” Honoring progressive, delicious, and exemplary coffee roasting around the world. Honored brands may be brand new or longstanding. Past winners include Heart Coffee (Portland), Small Batch Roasting Company (Melbourne), Drop Coffee (Stockholm), Blue Bottle Coffee (Oakland), Verve Coffee Roasters (Santa Cruz), and Tim Wendelboe (Oslo).

Best Coffee Writing โ€” Outstanding original coffee journalism honoring individual authors, published during the previous calendar year. Past winners include Matt Perger (Barista Hustle), Alexis Madrigal (The Atlantic), Dr. Lisa Knisely (Bitch Magazine), Erin Meister and Liz Clayton (Serious Eats: Drinks), and Oliver Strand (NYT Style Magazine Online).

Notable Producer โ€” Honoring excellence in coffee production across the coffee-growing world. Past honorees include Aida Battle (El Salvador), Rachel Peterson (Panama), the individual growers of the Ethiopia Commodities Exchange, Gilbert Gatali (Rwanda), Orang Utan Coffee (Indonesia), Emilio Lopez Diaz (El Salvador), and Tim Wendelboe & Elias Roa (Colombia).

Outstanding Achievement in the Field of Excellence โ€” The most hallowed of all the Sprudgie Awards, honoring individual achievements for the betterment of coffee. Past winners includeย Markus Reuter,ย Andrรฉ Krรผger,ย and Thorsten Keller, Jim Karr, Gerra Harrigan, Marcus Boni, Kyle Glanville & Charles Babinski, Aleco Chigounis, and Stephen Vick.

Other annual awards include the Sprudgie for Best New Product, Nicest Package, Best Coffee Video or Film, Best Coffee Subscription, Best Coffee Magazine, and this year’s newest awards, Best Coffee Podcast andย Finest Coffee Event.

Nominations for the 2016 Sprudgie Awards are accepted until Sunday, December 11th at 11:59 PM Pacific Standard Time. Following this we’ll host an open public vote on nominees from all categories, leading up to our awards feature in early January.

Vote! Share! We can’t wait to see who you pick to make the shortlist for the Eighth Annual Sprudgie Awards.

New Rules of Coffee banner advertising an illustrated guide to the essential rules for enjoying coffee