From thousands of voters in dozens of countries around the world, you poured in votes for the 2015 Sprudgie Awards, honoring the very best in specialty coffee. Now those votes have been tabulated, and we’re ready to present the nominees in 10 categories.

Each group of finalists takes into account the popular vote from our public nominations process. To keep things interesting we’ve included a secret “Editor’s Choice” nomination in each category. We’ll accept votes until Sunday, January 3rd at 11:59 PM PST, and announce our winners during the first week of January.

Notable Roaster

Koppi—Helsingborg, Sweden

Heart Roasters—Portland, Oregon

Five Elephant Coffee—Berlin, Germany

Ruby Coffee Roasters—Nelsonville, Wisconsin

49th Parallel—Vancouver, British Columbia

Cat and Cloud—Southern California

Best New Cafe

Amethyst Coffee, Denver

Playground Coffee, Hamburg

Paramount Coffee Project, Los Angeles

PublicUs, Las Vegas

Bocca Coffee, Amsterdam

Tipico Coffee, Buffalo

Outstanding Achievement In The Field of Excellence

Maxwell Colonna-Dashwood — for work as author of Water For Coffee, as a national barista champion in the United Kingdom, and as a small business owner advancing quality practices.

Third Wave Wichteln — for founders Markus Reuter, André Krüger, and Thorsten Keller, to honor their work as creators and organizers of the world’s foremost international specialty coffee exchange.

Joe Marrocco — for work with Cafe Imports and a distinguished career in the United States specialty coffee community.

Sonja Bjork Grant — for work as a judge and educator across a variety of international specialty coffee competitions.

Agnieszka Rojewska—for work at Brisman Kawowy Bar in Poznań, Poland, and for growing the profile of specialty coffee culture in Poland as national barista champion.

Nicest Package

banner advertising Sprudge Design Awards 2023


Five Elephant Coffee, Berlin


Counter Culture Coffee, Durham, North Carolina


La Cabra Coffee, Aarhus, Denmark


Parlor Coffee, New York City


Koppa Coffee, Kraljevo, Serbia


Best Magazine

Caffeine Magazine (London)

Drift Magazine (New York City)

Standart Magazine (Slovakia)

BRYGG Magasin (Oslo)

Barista Magazine (Portland, Oregon)

Best Subscription

Blue Bottle Coffee

The Coffeevine

Angels’ Cup

Share Coffee

Ceremony Coffee


Notable Producer

Fincas Mierisch, Nicaragua

Tesfaye Bekele, Suke Quto, Ethiopia

Wilford Lamastus, Elida Estate + Lamastus Family Estates, Panama

Ninety Plus Coffees

Tim Wendelboe and Elias Roa, Finca Tamana and Finca El Suelo, Colombia

Best Coffee Writing

Cold Brew 420 (Twitter account)

Matt BuchananThe Awl (Web log)

Maxwell Colonna-Dashwood, Water For Coffee (book)

James HoffmannJimSeven (Web log)

Matt PergerBarista Hustle (Subscription email)

Inge Jacobs, Susan Cote, Lisa Conway, and Kimberly Easson, CQI Partnership For Gender Equity Stage One Report (online report)

Best Coffee Video / Film

Barista” — the feature length film by Rock Baijnuth.

F*** Cupping” — a Tamper Tantrum talk by Colin Harmon at the Cup North Festival.

ChefSteps Coffee Series — a series of education coffee videos by ChefSteps.

Caffeinated” — the feature length film by Hanh Nguyen, Vishal Solanki, and Derek Baird.

Minneapolis To Winnipeg” — a short promotional film by Dogwood Coffee.

I’ll Go If I Don’t Have to Talk” – an episode of Comedians In Cars Getting Coffee featuring Julia Louis-Dreyfus.

Best New Product

La Marzocco Linea Mini

Acaia Lunar scale

Stagg Kettle by Fellow

Espro Travel Press

Slayer Espresso Espresso Single Group

La Colombe Draft Latte

See all past Sprudgie Award winners here! 

banner advertising the book new rules of coffee